Top ^

Alaska Native Studies


KPC currently offers the study of three Alaska Native languages, Dena'ina, Ahtna, and Yup'ik, co-taught with Native Elders. KPC is the only campus in the UA system to offer the Ahtna language. 

Alaska Native Studies Degrees/Certificates

Alaska Native Studies

The UAA minor in Alaska Native Studies is a component of a baccalaureate degree. A minor may only be issued simultaneously with a baccalaureate degree. A minor from UAA consists of a minimum of 18 credits, at least 6 of which must be upper division. Students must earn at least 3 credits in residence in each minor field - See more here.